How to revoke access to a delegated GMail address you own, after you reach the limit of 10 emails?

Gmail has a nice feature:

You can delegate access to your Gmail to another person so they can read, send, and delete messages on your behalf. For example, you can delegate e-mail rights to an admin in your organization, or you could delegate your personal email access to your spouse. The delegate can also access the other person’s contacts by clicking the Contacts link. Clicking the To,Cc, or Bcc links in the mail compose window will also bring up your contacts.

You won’t be able to give anyone permission to change your account password or account settings, or chat on your behalf. You can specify up to 10 users. Google Apps for Business, Education, and Government customers can specify up to 25 users. (source & details)

What happens when you get to 10 emails for which you have access? You can’t add other ones anymore.

How to solve this? 
Let’s say that emails 1@gmail.com, 2@gmail.com, 3@gmail.com … 10@gmail.com all give access to defaultemail@gmail.com. If you want to add 11@gmail.com, you can’t. The solution is to login as 1@gmail.com (or any other one in that list) and go to Settings => Accounts, and in there remove the granted access. In this way, you will be able to add 11@gmail.com, replacing the missing address.

Unlike granting access, which takes a while to process, removing the granted access is instantly done.

gmail-logo-mic

I am a Freelancer. My expertise is in SEO (Search Engine Optimization) / UX (user experience) / WordPress. Co-founder of lumeaseoppc.ro (series of events on SEO & PPC) and cetd.ro (Book on branding for MDs). On a personal level, I like self-development - events, sports, healthy living, volunteering, reading. I live in London, and lots of things live in me.

3 Comments

  • David

    24 June 2014 - 20:53

    This doesn’t work – the delegated accounts no longer have accounts and import in their settings.

  • David

    24 June 2014 - 20:56

    Sorry – that only happens if you go into the account from the account you delegated too.

  • Olivian Breda

    25 June 2014 - 07:15

    Yes, it’s true – you have to go to the account you delegated from. :)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.